Inauguración Festival



The aim of the Seville Festival is to promote and spread European cinema, establishing itself as an annual meeting place for European film talents, specialised journalists and professionals from the sector. Nine days during which industry, public and critics coexist in the midst of the best European cinema. Spanish premieres of the major films in contemporary auteurist cinema, the presence of a large number of emerging talents, the determined defense of the youngest Spanish cinema, support for Andalusian cinema and, above all, the total security that today, more than ever, a film festival can be useful to the public, to films and to filmmakers.

The main axis of the festival is made up of various competitive sections for feature films, documentaries, short films and non-fiction cinema. The other main axis consists of special screenings, tributes and retrospectives, with the aim of providing a complete view of contemporary European cinema. Also, each year the festival hosts the nominations ceremony for the European Film Academy Awards. In addition, in 2018, Seville is the venue for the European Film Academy Awards gala, an event that will take place on 15th December in the Maestranza Theatre.

han pasado por el festival


The Seville Festival has received visits from legends and maestros such as Agnès Varda, Claude Lanzmann, Leos Carax, Stephen Frears, Carlos Saura, Bigas Luna, Amos Gitaï, Milos Forman, Béla Tarr, Nicolas Roeg, Paolo Taviani, Alexander Kluge, Alain Robbe-Grillet, Tonino Guerra, Andrzej Wajda, Nikita Mikhalkov, Peter Greenaway, Vittorio Storaro, Andzrej Zulawski, Mike Newell, Patrice Chéreau or Gianfranco Rosi.

The city and the festival have welcomed important filmmakers such as Matteo Garrone, Bruno Dumont, Olivier Assayas, Alain Guiraudie, Sergei Loznitsa, Teresa Villaverde, Eugène Green, Jessica Hausner, Philippe Grandieux, Pedro Costa or Whit Stillman. Also auteurs with transforming gazes such as Pedro Pinho, Joaquim Lafosse, Ulrich Seidl, Ado Arrieta, Bertrand Bonello, Nadav Lapid, Valeska Grisebach, Amos Gitaï, Katharina Wyss, Albert Serra, Ruben Östlund, F.J. Ossang, Kurdwin Ayub, Jean-Charles Fitoussi… .

We have been visited by established Spanish directors, such as Agustín Díaz Yanes, José Luis Guerín, Gonzalo García Pelayo, Juan Sebastián Bollaín, Lluis Miñarro, Josefina Molina, Paco León, Alberto Rodríguez, Ramón Salazar, Miguel Hermoso, Fernando Franco, Manuel Martín Cuneca or Isabel Coixet… And new voices in our cinema such as Albert Serra, Oliver Laxe, Carlos Marqués-Marcet, Carlo Padial, Manuel Muñoz Rivas, Pablo Lorca, Rocío Mesa, David Macián, César Velasco Broca, Hernán Zin, Elena López Riera, Carla Subirana, Eva Vila, Samu Fuentes, Anxos Fazáns, Lois Patiño, Adrián Orr…

And also such notable actors as Ben Kingsley, John Hurt, Christopher Lee, Kenneth Branagh, John Turturro, Vincent Landon, Mathieu Amalric, Louis Garrel, Colin Farell, María de Medeiros, Valeria Bruni-Tedeschi, Bárara Lennie, Inma Cuesta, Antonio de la Torre, Oona Chaplin, Lola Dueñas, Antonio Banderas, Paz Vega, Timothy Spall, Franco Nero, Christopher Lee…


the public come face to face with european cinema

The festival has been a great success with the public, of whom it has never lost sight, always maintaining a closeness and complicity with its audiences, extending its activities beyond the films. These range from Q&A sessions between guest directors and the audience to seminars, exhibitions and concerts, all of which favour a real interaction between the city and the festival. Films for children and young people, in their important mission of creating an informed public, are also included in the festival, accompanied by a group of special activities involving teachers and pupils.


the focus on industry

Aware of the importance of creating networks and strengthening the production, distribution and exhibition of European cinema, the festival pays special attention to its industry activities. A complete programme that puts professionals from around the world in touch and facilitates the circulation of resources, contacts, knowledge and tools.


The Seville Festival is a project by Seville’s Institute of Culture and the Arts (Seville City Council). With the support of the Institute of Film and the Audiovisual Arts (Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport) and of the European Union’s Creative Europe.

With the collaboration of: the Junta de Andalucía through the Centro de Estudios Andaluces, Extenda, Agencia Andaluza de Promoción Exterior and the Agenda Andaluza de Instituciones Culturales, RTVA- Canal Sur, European Film Academy, Acción Cultural Española, AC/E, Fundación SGAE, Institut Français, Unifrance, TV5 Monde, Eurimages, Festival SCOPE, Art Cinema CICAE, Filmin, Austrian Cultural Forum, Swiss Films, German Films, Instituto Italiano de Cultura  de Madrid, Fundación Tres Culturas del Mediterráneo, University of Seville_CICUS, European Moving Cinema Programme and ECAM-Escuela de Cinematografía y del Audiovisual de la Comunidad de Madrid. At present the festival is headed by José Luis Cienfuegos, who has been director since 2012. The first edition of the festival was  held in 2001 (it also has antecedents in the 80s) under the name of the Seville Festival of Film and Sport, directed by José Luis Ruíz. In 2004 it became the Seville Festival of European Cinema. With its present name, the festival has been directed by Manolo Grosso (2004-2007) and by Javier Martín Dominguez (2008-2011).


the festival in figures





national premieres.


worldwide premieres.









spectators in 2018.



young audience.