Official Selection


Bruno Dumont | France | 2019 | 133 min.
O.V in French subtitled in spanish and english.

Like Bresson and Dreyer, Dumont retakes the character of Joan of Arc. And, like the two masters, he does it in his own radical way. If Jeannette, his other film on the subject, was a mocking musical, here we have an impressive "Gothic action film" (according to Dumont himself) featuring the Rouen Cathedral as a majestic setting. The story of this girl of ferocious innocence facing the church and the factional powers, cartoonish gentlemen, is based on a particular way of showing her relationship with divinity through spacial compositions and music, in a film struck by grace.

Direction : Bruno Dumont
Script : Bruno Dumont
Cinematography: Guillaume Deffontaines
Editing: Bruno Dumont, Basile Belkhiri
Music: Christophe
Sound: Philippe Lecteur
Cast: Lise Leplat Prudhomme, Jean-François Causeret, Daniel Dienne, Fabien Fenet, Robert Hanicotte, Yves Habert
Production: Jean Bréhat, Rachid Bouchareb, Muriel Merlin
Production Company: Taos Production, Arte France, Pictanovo


Bruno Dumont has been considered as one the most personal voices in European cinema for the last 20 years, since his debut in 1997 with La vie de Jesus, which won the Jean Vigo Prize after its premiere at Cannes. A festival where he has premiered almost all his films, and where he has won the Grand Jury Prize of the Official Section on two occasions, with L'humanité (1999) and Flanders (2006), also participating in that competition with Ma Loute (2016, Golden Giraldillo in Seville). He has been in the Un Certain Regard section with his films Hors Satan (2011) and his most recent film Jeanne (2019), and in the Directors' Fortnight with P'tit Quinquin (2014) and Jeannette (2017). His film Twentynine Palms (2003) was screened at Venice in the Official Competition, Hadewijch was presented in Toronto (2009, FIPRESCI Prize) and went to the Berlinale with Camille Claudel 1915 (2013). Coincoin and the Extra-Humans (2018) premiered at Locarno, where he was also awarded an honorary prize for his career that same year.