Official Selection


Benoît Delépine, Gustave Kervern | France, Belgium | 2019 | 110 min.
O.V. in French and English subtitled in English and Spanish

Delépine and Kervern (Aaltra, Mammuth), winners of the Silver Bear Special Prize at the 70th Anniversary of the Berlinale, have taken on three of the remnants of the digital era in their latest comedy: Marie, who lost custody of her son because she had no money, and even less so because of a certain video on the web. Christine, unemployed because of her addiction to series, driving an Uber and not getting more than one star. Finally, Bertrand, whose daughter suffers from cyberbullying, also flirts  with a telephone operator from the Mauritius Islands. These three rebel against Silicon Valley in a series of sketches (in the spirit of the Farrelli, Tati and Larry David) in which exaggeration is not necessary because reality surpasses fiction in this world dominated by Amazon and Google. Featuring a soundtrack by Daniel Johnston, and a cameo by Michel Houellebecq.

Direction: Benoît Delépine, Gustave Kervern
Script: Benoît Delépine, Gustave Kervern
Cinematography: Hugues Poulain
Editing: Stéphane Guillot Elmadjian
Sound: Régis Boussin
Cast: Vincent Lacoste, Michel Houellebecq, Albert Delpy, Bouli Lanners, Philippe Rebbot, Vincent Dedienne
Production: Sylvie Pialat, Benoît Quainon
Production Company: Les Films du Worso, No Money Productions

Benoît Delépine, Gustave Kervern

Benoît Delépine was born in France in 1958. He is the creator of the satirical programmes of Canal + Les Guignols de l'info and Groland. He is also the author of the comics L'Imposteur (2000), La Bombe (2002) and God Killer (2003). Gustave Kervern was born in 1962, and is the author of numerous books, including Petits moments d'ivresse (2008) and Impertinents (2014). Delépine and Kervern have been working together since 2004, when they made their debut with Aaltra. This was followed by Avida (2006), Louise-Michel (2008), Mammuth (2010), Le grand soir (2012), Near Death Experience (2014), Saint Amour (2016) and I Feel Good (2018), all of which have been screened at the most prestigious festivals and have won awards at festivals such as Cannes, Sundance and San Sebastian. Delete History, the duo's latest film, was awarded the Silver Bear at the Berlinale in 2020.